MMS Power of the Pen Team Earns Respect at Regionals

MMS Power of the Pen Team Earns Respect at Regionals

Mason Middle School’s seventh and eighth grade Power of the Pen teams continued their season at the Regional Power of the Pen Tournament on March 19.  MMS was honored to send five seventh grade writers to regionals, Faye Cuasay, Katie Maier, Mariah Norman, Abraham Sturgill, and Ann Vettikkal, and four eighth grade writers including Lily Geiser, Megan Li, Leah Lorenz, and Aranpreet Sajjan.



Wyoming Middle School hosted the state of Ohio’s largest regional tournament with 41 schools and 246 writers.  MMS's seventh and eighth grade combined teams were awarded fourth place in the “Sweepstakes Award,” given for the highest combined total points between a school’s seventh and eighth grade teams.  This award would not have been possible without Mason’s District competitors, seventh grader Pranav Yenugu, and eighth graders Nina Kisanga and Connor Telford.  


Aside from the “Sweepstakes Award,” Mason writers also earned several individual awards during the tournament.  Seventh grader Faye Cuasay took second place overall and eighth grader Megan Li took eighteenth.  After earning a “Director’s Choice Award” at Districts, eighth grader Lily Geiser earned a “Best of the Best Award” and the distinct honor of being published in The Book of Winners for the 2015 Power of the Pen season.


"We are so proud of not only the nine writers who qualified for this year’s Regionals, but the entire Mason Middle School Power of the Pen team," shared Coach Rachel Young. "We are excited to be bring several writers to States at the College of Wooster in late May.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.